10 March, 2016

Diamond Race Points Revolutionised

The IAAF Diamond League has introduced a new points format for the 2016 season.


From 2016, the points system will be changed to state that athletes finishing in the top six will all win points. The new breakdown is as follows:

  • 1st place: 10 DR points
  • 2nd place: 6 DR points
  • 3rd place: 4 DR points
  • 4th place: 3 DR points
  • 5th place: 2 DR points
  • 6th place: 1 DR point

In all six previous seasons of the series, athletes could win Diamond Race points at any given meeting by finishing in the top three in their Diamond Race discipline. In the IAAF Diamond League Finals in Z├╝rich and Brussels, points are doubled. The athlete with the most Diamond Race points at the end of the season wins the Diamond Trophy. If two or more athletes are tied on points at the end of the season, the athlete with the most victories wins the Diamond Trophy.

With more points up for grabs this season, more athletes will find themselves in the running for Diamond Race glory. 2016 promises to provide some of the most competitive and thrilling Diamond Races yet.