14 April, 2016

Three weeks, three changes

In just three weeks time, the 2016 IAAF Diamond League season will kick off in Doha. Three more weeks, and athletes from across the globe will begin competing for one of the most prestigious prizes in their sport.

In 2016, however, the competition will look a little different to previous years. Always keen to move with the times, the IAAF Diamond League has made three major changes. Here's a quick reminder of three brand new things to look out for as you follow the 2016 Diamond Race.


A new continent

2016 will be the year in which the IAAF Diamond League arrives in Africa. The Meeting International Mohammed VI was welcomed into the fold in March, meaning the Diamond League has expanded to a new city (Rabat), a new country (Morocco) and a new continent (Africa).

Full story here

Read more about Rabat here

A new points system

At the heart of the Diamond League is the Diamond Race. Athletes compete for points as they struggle to reach the top of their respective table and get their hands on the Diamond Trophy at the end of the season. From 2016, the points system will be changed to state that athletes finishing in the top six will all win points. This should blow open competiton and make the Diamond Race even more exciting.

Full story here

A new format for the field

Also new to the Diamond League in 2016 will be the format of certain field events. In the horizontal jumps and throwing disciplines, all participants will now have three attempts, and only the top four at that stage will have a further three.